12:40:01 AM (UTC+02:00)
Tuesday, May 21, 2013
The museum currently includes three premises, those of Kežmarok Castle, Burgess Dwelling Culture Exhibition and the Burgess House used as an exhibition hall.
Koloman Sokol was a peculiar personality, who, even though in his childhood was left by his mother at a railway station, managed to work his way to the top. Nevertheless, he wasn't consumed by the glamour of money and, until the end of his days, he remained a modest man on a quest for his artistic truth.
The gallery has been situated at Zámočnícka street in the very centre of Bratislava since 2000. The exhibition covers 80 square metres and there is also a Modern Art shop.
The Town Castle in Kremnica is part of the NBS - Museum of Coins and Medals.
The Kysuce Museum in Čadca is a regional museum focused on national history and geography. At the same time, it is also a specialized museum with Slovakia-wide competence concerning the documentation of the development of forest railways in Slovakia for museum purposes.
The Kysuce Regional Gallery was founded in 1981, with its seat being located in the Town House on Hlinkova Street in the town of Čadca. It has a branch in the manor house in Oščadnica.
The LABYRINT Gallery has three exhibition halls.
The second largest gallery in Slovakia features permanent exhibitions of works by P.M. Bohúň, gothic, barroque works, as well as pieces of art from the 19th and 20th centuries, also with short-term exhibitions taking place on a regular basis.
Permanent expositions: geology, palaeontology, botanic, zoology, archaeology, feudalisms and guilds, folk lore, sacral art, history of Liptov 1948 - 1945, life and work of A. Hlinka, history of paper-making, history
The Literature and Music Museum was established in 1969. It has been incorporated as a specialized organizational unit of the State Scientific Library in Banská Bystrica since January 1, 2001. It focuses the documentation of literary and musical culture of the Banská Bystrica region.
The Literature and National History Museum in Svätý Jur was set up in 1952 under the name of Peter Jilemnický Museum, with its opening for the public to follow in May 1954. In 1963, the municipal museum with an exposition called History of the Town of Svätý Jur was affiliated to the literature section and came to represent its national history section.
Although the city of Košice is no longer surrounded by ramparts, several bastions have been preserved. Visitors can see the city's former fortifications in a unique subterranean museum called Lower Gate.
Ľubovňa Museum with the seat in Stará Ľubovňa was established in 1956 and was originally located at the Province House, St Nicolas Square. Ľubovňa Castle has been the seat of the museum since 1966.